Starting a Local Boutique…

So I realize it has been quite awhile since I have posted on here, it seems I’ve been busier lately than I even realized! But now I am back and I will try to update it no less than once a week…

Anyway…onto the juicy stuff!

I am thinking about starting a small boutique in my area. It’s main concentration would be accessories: shoes, jewelry, handbags, etc., but would also have clothing. Being the frugal shopper that I am, I would never want an overly pretentious, high priced shop. I want to share affordable fashion! That being said, I think it would also dual as a consignment shop. Living in the Hampton Roads area, I would probably locate it in Virginia Beach or Williamsburg where there are more crowds and more of a fashion scene.

I’m still in the beginning stages and this is something I would do in a few years, maybe after all my student loans are paid off. So in this time, I want to do as much research as I can. This is all so new to me!! During my search I found this handy article from eHow.com on How to Start a Boutique:

  1. Step 1

    Decide what type of boutique you want to open. Do you want to specialize in accessories, cruise or vacation wear, sportswear, elegant clothing or consignment?

  2. Step 2

    Get a resale number from the Franchise Tax Board. This will get you into trade shows and allow you to purchase their goods.

  3. Step 3

    Contact the city or county department that handles business licenses and get an application. Ask what other requirements there are for opening a business in the area.

  4. Step 4

    Find suppliers. Go to trade shows and join organizations to get lists of suppliers for the products you want to carry.

  5. Step 5

    Select a location. You will need a storefront that has good street visibility and easy access.

  6. Step 6

    Design the store to be inviting. Select special items to put in windows to entice customers to come inside.

  7. Step 7

    Advertise. Hold mini-fashion shows to create publicity for your store and attract customers.

  8. Step 8

    Try something new. Order items that you think the public might like, even if you don’t like them personally.

  9. Step 9

    Listen to what your customers are asking for and try to fill their needs.

I now want to ask what you guys think about this advice, and what tips could you give to someone starting out on this venture??

Any help would be greatly appreciated and I’ll be sure to post it!!

Thanks!

One thought on “Starting a Local Boutique…

  1. I’ve always wanted to own a boutique, but I’m much more of a buyer than a business woman… so i have no rel advise for you but let us know how it goes!
    xox
    tanya

Leave a Reply

